Go Back   RunescapeAddicts Forum > Runescape General > Runescape Help & Runescape Tips

Runescape Help & Runescape Tips Ask for help and tips about Runescape from our friendly RSAddicts members!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2007, 09:35 PM
artemvas's Avatar
artemvas artemvas is offline
Honorary Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wondering.....
Posts: 1,037
artemvas is just really niceartemvas is just really niceartemvas is just really niceartemvas is just really nice
Send a message via AIM to artemvas
hacking ways plz read....originally posted by chindianpower

Many people around this forum are posting links and saying something funny is there, whip kill ,etc. These usually come up with a sign, at first, that says JAGEX copyright. Well, if you delve in deeper, after a few moments, it redirects you to a login thing that seems like runescape's login thing. It asks you to enter your username and password. DO NOT do as such. If you look closer, at the top of the page, it is NOT RUNESCAPE.COM. The background may look exactly like runescape but that is part of the elaborate scam. Entering your username and password WILL GET YOU HACKED. I know. My puppet's name was entered by me because I was cautious. I had a gut instinct something was wrong. Lucky me. Things could have went VERY WRONG IF I ENTERED MY MAIN. I was wearing quite a bit at the time. Luckily, my puppet held nothing and had a bank pin. They tried to alter the recovery questions BUT i cancelled the pending ones. Also, they changed the password that I was able to recover. I knew something was wrong when my main saw that my puppet was logged on. Very lucky, too. Many of you are more observant than me, but this is not a joke, but a real hacking threat. An illegal one to boot since it is violating the copyright laws. Many of you may not need this tidbit of information because you realized it. If you did fall for it, get yourself to check your account out and change everything. Quick.

I posted this in the free lounge and in the member lounge to be safe since many look there. This is just a sign that OTHER SITES may lurk around. Whenever logging in, always look to see if it says runescape.com and nothing is suspicious. Scams of the past were for items, but they are evolving. This particular one is not the main point, but the overall status of other hacking and to be on your toes and be ready.

Real site has this above the area you log in: http://www.runescape.com/img/weblogin/onlyrs4.gif - The fake one does not. Always look up regardless if it has that or not. The fake site does not have that to divert attention away from the address bar.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 03:14 PM
dudill
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking yes! very!

thanks for warning me about that..it really helps... i will always loom at the website name now =) thanks...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 03:52 PM
Loraan's Avatar
Loraan Loraan is offline
Steel Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 60
Loraan is on a distinguished road
Nice catch, thanks tons for the info. Just think of how many less people will get scammed because of posts like this... Thanks again.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 03:55 PM
ChindianPower's Avatar
ChindianPower ChindianPower is offline
Dragon Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 593
ChindianPower is just really niceChindianPower is just really niceChindianPower is just really niceChindianPower is just really nice
rofl - Not at your post, but at the scammers. Remember, dileep? He is scamming again. He says click the scam link before the admins delete his post. ROFL! He can't even make his scam inconspicuous anymore. lol lol lol
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 04:39 PM
nosaj61's Avatar
nosaj61 nosaj61 is offline
Adamant Addict
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: at home lol
Posts: 195
nosaj61 is on a distinguished road
also i have seen websites that are www.runescape.(other word not saying which one) and look like runescape.com but arnt.
dont click that it went to link form aoutomatlicly dont know what it will go to. and how do i take it out of link form
__________________
if u need to contact me for anything plz pm me
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23